Skip to Content

Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas

These areas of learning provide the foundations for all future learning. Children need to be confident and capable with independence and a good sense of personal identity. They need good language skills to be able to interact with others and make their own views known. They need highly skilled and refined physical skills on both a large and small scale, in order to effectively explore the rich and varied world around them. These are all developed through the following areas:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  2. Physical Development

  3. Communication and Language

Specific Areas

The specific areas of learning are finely developed throughout a child’s pre-school year and throughout reception. Literacy and mathematics gives your child a firm foundation of the skills required to flourish and succeed in life and is taught through a very active and engaging approach. Children also learn about the world around them which encourages their natural curiosity and the need to find out more about things through their own creative ideas and approaches.

  1. Literacy

  2. Mathematics

  3. Understanding The World

  4. Expressive Arts and Design